Safety Car Spoils Shell Chance

March 25, 2018


Fabian Coulthard - No. 12 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Race 6 – 6th (Fastest Lap: 1m57.6785s)

Scott McLaughlin - No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Race 6 – 7th (Fastest Lap: 1m57.2065s)

Recap: The final race of the event was almost an anti-climax, with a mid-race Safety Car intervention nullifying any threat that the Shell V-Power Racing Team cars may have had to make more ground through the pack. Both Scott and Fabian had a good start, getting through the first turn cleanly with Scott executing a clever pass at Turn 4 to gain two positions on the opening lap. They then ran nose to tail for several laps until Fabian allowed Scott through to attempt an attack on the Walkinshaw Andretti car of Scott Pye. The Safety Car boards and flags were shown not long after, and the cars rolled around behind the Safety Car for four laps while the fire-damaged No.34 of James Golding was removed from the circuit. When the race went green again the clock had passed the time certain finish limit, and as such it was the final lap of the race. Scott return the position to Fabian at the end of the lap, with Fabian finishing 6th and Scott 7th. Scott now sits third in the Drivers' points, with Fabian 14th. The team is fourth in the Teams' points.

Coulthard Quote: "I got another great start, but got boxed in a bit so couldn't take advantage like I would have liked, but that's how it goes sometimes. It's good to be getting good consistent starts. It was a pretty good bounceback weekend after a poor start in Adelaide, so I'm looking forward to Tasmania."

McLaughlin Quote: "Got a pretty strong start and then got boxed in a bit, but was able to get passed a couple of cars on the first lap when they got into each other. After getting past Fabs, I just didn't have the pace to go further forward. I think the car was better than yesterday, but we've got work to do before the next round."

1 Shane van Gisbergen 486
2 David Reynolds 437
3 Scott McLaughlin  425
4 Chaz Mostert  416
5 Scott Pye 397
6 Jamie Whincup 379
7 James Courtney 375
8 Nick Percat 352
9 Mark Winterbottom 329
10 Cameron Waters 325
14 Fabian Coulthard 308



1 Triple Eight Race Engineering 865
2 Walkinshaw Andretti United 772
3 Tickford Racing (Winterbottom/Mostert) 745
4 Shell V-Power Racing Team 733
5 Brad Jones Racing 672
6 Erebus Motorsport 583
7 Nissan NISMO 446
8 Garry Rogers Motorsport 425
9 Tickford Racing (Waters/Stanaway) 399
10 Nissan Motorsport 381