Team Penske Verizon IndyCar Qualifying - Portland

September 1, 2018

Team Penske Verizon IndyCar Series Practice & Qualifying Report

Track:                  Portland International Raceway
Race:                   Grand Prix of Portland
Date:                   September 1, 2018

No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden

Practice 3
Position:                            9th
Time / Speed:                   57.7873 / 122.352 mph     

Position:                            2nd
Total Time / Speed:        57.6877 / 122.563 mph

No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Practice 3
Position:                            3rd
Time / Speed:                   57.5508/ 122.855 mph     

Position:                            1st  (54th-career INDYCAR pole)
Total Time / Speed:        57.3467 / 123.292 mph

No. 22 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Practice 3
Position:                            19th
Time / Speed:                   58.1346 / 121.621 mph     
Position:                            22nd
Total Time / Speed:        58.0983 / 121.697 mph

Fastest Times:

Practice 3 - 57.4707 / 123.026 mph (No. 18 – Sebastien Bourdais)
Qualifying - 57.3467 / 123.292 mph (No. 1 – Will Power)

Notes:  Will Power, driver of the No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet, continued his strong weekend in INDYCAR's return to Portland International Raceway by grabbing the pole for Sunday's Grand Prix of Portland.   It's Power's fourth pole of the season and the 54th of his INDYCAR career, putting him just 13 behind Mario Andretti on the all-time list.  Power was fastest in each of the three qualifying sessions and ended up over three-tenths of a second ahead of teammate Josef Newgarden, who will start second in the No. 1 Verizon Chevrolet.  The No. 22 Menards Chevrolet and driver Simon Pagenaud continued to struggle at the 1.9-mile permanent road course and failed to make it out of the first round of qualifying.  Pagenaud will start 22nd on Sunday.

Coverage: The Grand Prix of Portland will air on Sunday, September 2 at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network.