Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

August 25, 2017

Track:                       Gateway Motorsports Park
Race:                       Bommarito Automotive Group 500
Date:                        August 25, 2017

No. 1 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Position:                   4th
2-Lap Total Time:    48.1936
Speed:                      186.747 mph                         

No. 2 PPG Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden

Position:                   2nd
2-Lap Total Time:    47.7921
Speed:                     188.316 mph

No. 3 Shell Fuel Rewards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves

Position:                   3rd
2-Lap Total Time:    48.0109
Speed:                      187.457 mph

No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Position:                   1st   (50th career INDYCAR pole win)
2-Lap Total Time:    47.4579
Speed:                     189.642 mph

Fast Time:                47.4579 (No. 12 – Will Power)

Notes: Will Power won the Verizon P1 Award for Saturday's Bommarito Automotive Group 500 in Verizon IndyCar Series qualifying on Friday at Gateway Motorsports Park. This is Power's sixth pole win of the 2017 season also having won at St. Petersburg, Barber Motorsports Park, the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Iowa Speedway and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. The pole is the 50th of his INDYCAR career (6 CC/44 IRL/IC), which ties him with teammate Helio Castroneves for third on the all-time poles list for the series. Both are three short of tying A.J. Foyt for second. Mario Andretti tops the chart with 67. Forty-four of Power's 50 career poles have come as a Team Penske driver. It is Power's first pole at Gateway as he makes his first start at the 1.25-mile oval. The six poles in a season equals his career high established in 2011. Power has notched multiple pole wins in eight of his 13 VICS seasons. It is the 10th pole for Team Penske in 2017 (Power – 6, Castroneves – 3 and Simon Pagenaud – 1). Team Penske has won 21 of 31 poles dating back to last year. The four Team Penske Chevrolets qualified 1-2-3-4 for the second time (Road America) this season and the fifth time since expanding to a four-car team in 2015. The three others were St. Petersburg in 2015 and 2016 and Sonoma in 2016. Teammate Josef Newgarden qualified his PPG Chevrolet second and will start alongside Power on the front row which will be the sixth time this season that Team Penske entrants have occupied the top-two starting positions. The second row for Saturday's 248-lap race will be made up of Helio Castroneves and the Shell Fuel Rewards Chevrolet team in the third position and the Menards Chevrolet of Simon Pagenaud in the fourth starting spot. This is the 255th Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the history of Team Penske and the 537th pole for the organization, overall.

Coverage: Television coverage of the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 on Saturday evening from Gateway Motorsports Park will begin at 9 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network. Additional coverage can be found on the INDYCAR Radio Network and the Verizon IndyCar Series mobile app. NBCSN also will show Friday's qualifying session at 7:30 p.m. ET.