Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

July 29, 2017

Track:                      Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Race:                       Honda Indy 200
Date:                        July 29, 2017

No. 1 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Position:                   7th
Time:                        1:04.3008
Speed:                      126.418 mph                         

No. 2 PPG Paints Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden

Position:                   2nd
Time:                       1:04.3067
Speed:                     126.407 mph

No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves

Position:                   5th
Time:                       1:04.8485
Speed:                     125.351 mph

No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Position:                   1st (49th career INDYCAR pole position)
Time:                       1:04.1720
Speed:                     126.672 mph

Fast Time:                1:04.1720 (No. 12 – Will Power)

Notes: Will Power and the No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet team won the Verizon P1 Award for Sunday's Honda Indy 200 in Verizon IndyCar Series qualifying on Saturday at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. This is Power's fifth pole win of the 2017 season also having won at St. Petersburg, Barber Motorsports Park, the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Iowa Speedway. The pole is the 49th of his INDYCAR career (6 CC/43 IRL/IC), which ties him with Bobby Unser for fifth on the all-time poles-won list for the series. He is one shy of tying Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves, who occupies the third position with 50. Forty-three of his 49 career poles have come as a Team Penske driver. It is Power's third pole win at Mid-Ohio with the others coming in 2010 and 2012 and his sixth straight front-row start at the 2.258-mile road course. This is the ninth pole for Team Penske in 2017 (Power – 5, Castroneves – 3 and Pagenaud – 1). Team Penske has won 20 of 29 poles dating back to last year. Josef Newgarden qualified the No. 2 PPG Chevrolet second and will start alongside Power on the front row which will be the fifth time this season that Team Penske entrants have occupied the top-two starting positions. Helio Castroneves will line up the No. 3 Hitachi Chevrolet in the fifth position while Simon Pagenaud and his No. 1 Menards Chevrolet will get underway from the seventh starting position. Scott McLaughlin also won the pole for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship’s Ipswich Supersprint and followed it up with his sixth race win of the season. This is the 254th Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the history of Team Penske and the 530th pole for the organization, overall.

Coverage: Television coverage of the Honda Indy 200 on Sunday from the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course will begin at 3 p.m. ET on CNBC. Additional coverage can be found on the INDYCAR Radio Network and the Verizon IndyCar Series mobile app. There also will be an encore presentation of the telecast at 7 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network.