Will Power Pole Winning Notes - Iowa

July 8, 2017

                   WILL POWER
                NO. 12 VERIZON
                IOWA CORN 300
               IOWA SPEEDWAY
                   JULY 8, 2017

  • Will Power won the Verizon P1 Pole Award for Sunday's Iowa Corn 300 in Verizon IndyCar Series qualifying on Saturday.
  • This is Power's fourth pole win of the 2017 season also having won at St. Petersburg, Barber Motorsports Park and the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
  • The pole is the 48th of his INDYCAR career (6 CC/42 IRL/IC), placing him fifth on the all-time poles-won list for the series. He is one shy of tying Bobby Unser for fourth and two behind Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves, who occupies the third position with 50.
  • Forty-two of his 48 career poles have come as a Team Penske driver.
  • It is Power's second pole win at Iowa Speedway with his first coming in 2010.
  • This is the seventh pole for Team Penske in 2017 (Power – 4, Castroneves – 3)
  • Team Penske has won 17 of 28 poles dating back to last year.
  • Scott McLaughlin also won the pole for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship's Watpac Townsville 400 and followed it up with his fifth race win of the season.
  • This is the 252nd Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the history of Team Penske and the 526th pole for the organization overall.