Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

May 22, 2016

Track:     Indianapolis Motor Speedway 
Race:      The 100th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race
Date:       May 21, 2016

Fast Time:     2:35.8803 -- 230.946 mph (No. 5 – James Hinchcliffe)

No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Juan Pablo Montoya

Position:       12
Time:             2:36.6956
Speed:           229.745 mph

Qualifying Recap: Juan Pablo Montoya went back out in the Verizon Chevy late during Saturday's opening day of qualifying but couldn’t break into the Fast Nine Shootout. Montoya was the only Team Penske driver to not earn a spot in the top nine, but he still has a chance to secure the 10th starting position in Sunday’s first round of qualifying, which determines the starting order for positions 10 through 33 in next weekend's race. Montoya is the defending champion of the Indy 500. He has won it twice in his three attempts, having also won in his rookie season in 2000. His best qualifying effort was in 2000, when he started second. The only time he didn't win the Indy 500 in this three starts -- 2014 -- he finished fifth.

No. 3 Pennzoil Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves

Position:       4
Time:             2:36.1822
Speed:           230.500 mph

Qualifying Recap: After a solid first run in the No. 3 Pennzoil Chevy, Helio Castroneves went back out and secured his place in the Fast Nine Shootout with a four-lap run average speed of 230.500 mph. Trying to guard against the possibility of being bumped out of the top nine, Castroneves went out with just over 40 minutes left in qualifying and recorded what was, at the time, the fastest four-lap average of the day. He'll join teammates Will Power and Simon Pagenaud in Sunday's Fast Nine Shootout for the Indy 500 pole position. Castroneves is going for his fourth career victory at Indy, which would tie him for the record with Al Unser, A.J. Foyt and Rick Mears. He previously won the race in 2001, 2002 and 2009. He also has four pole positions at Indy -- 2003, 2007, 2009 and 2010.

No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Position:       3
Time:             2:36.0225
Speed:           230.736 mph

Qualifying Recap: Will Power led Team Penske's effort on the first day of qualifying for the 100th Indianapolis 500 as the team put three of its four cars in Sunday's Fast Nine Shootout, which will determine the starting order for the first three rows of the race. With 21 minutes remaining in Saturday's qualifying, Power, who had been in 10th place - just outside the Fast Nine -  went back out in the No. 12 Verizon Chevy and recorded a four-lap average speed of 230.736 mph. That was good enough for second place at the time, and remained easily in the Fast Nine as James Hinchcliffe later posted the fastest run of the day. The top nine drivers will start over again Sunday with one run each beginning at 5 p.m. ET. Last year, Power finished second behind teammate Juan Pablo Montoya in the Indy 500. He twice has started second in the race -- in 2010 and 2015.

No. 22 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Position:       9
Time:             2:36.4522    
Speed:           230.102 mph

Qualifying Recap: Simon Pagenaud put down a strong four-lap run early in the day, then watched as his Menards Chevrolet held on to the final position in Sunday's Fast Nine Shootout with an average speed of 230.102 mph. Pagenaud comes into the 100th Indy 500 on a roll, having won the previous three Verizon IndyCar Series races, including the Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis May 14 on the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. He leads the drivers' standings after five of 16 races in the 2016 season. This will be Pagenaud’s fifth Indy 500 start; his best finish was eighth in 2013. His top start was third in 2014.

Coverage:  The second round of qualifying will be televised live Sunday on ABC-TV, with coverage starting at 4 p.m. ET. The Fast Nine Shootout is expected to start at 5 p.m. Coverage also will be broadcast live on Sirius 212, XM 209, with live streaming on ESPN3 from 2:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.