Briscoe Prepares For Texas Motor Speedway

June 5, 2008

Fast Facts:

  • Last weekend in Milwaukee, Briscoe earned his first IndyCar Series victory after starting 11th and leading twice for a total of 47 laps.  His victory catapulted him from 19th to eighth place in the IndyCar Series Championship point standings where he has 134 points and sits just 10 points outside of fifth place.
  • Briscoe has one start in Texas, which came in 2005 when he started and finished 12th.
  • While the 2008 IndyCar Series season marks Briscoe’s first year driving the No. 6 Team Penske Dallara/Honda; this is the second year the 26 year-old Australian has driven for Penske Racing.  In 2007, Briscoe shared driving responsibilities with teammate Sascha Maassen for the #6 DHL Porsche RS Spyder in the American LeMans Series for Penske Racing, where he earned Rookie of the Year honors.
  • In the 25 IndyCar Series events Briscoe has driven to date, he’s earned one win (Milwaukee – 2008), one pole (Sonoma – 2005), three top-five finishes (Watkins Glen – 2006; Indianapolis – 2007; Milwaukee - 2008), nine top-ten finishes and started in the top-ten eleven times.

Penske Racing at Texas Motor Speedway:

  • In nine races at Texas Motor Speedway, Team Penske has accumulated four wins (Sam Hornish Jr. – ’07, Helio Castroneves - ’06 and 10/17/04, Gil de Ferran - 10/12/03); and three pole positions (Hornish Jr. – ‘06, Castroneves – 10/15/04, de Ferran – 10/10/03).
  • In addition, de Ferran and Castroneves both won from the pole in the season-finale races of 2003 and 2004. Castroneves’ victory in 2006 marked the first time that the Team had won under the lights at Texas Motor Speedway.
  • Penske Racing drivers hold both the qualifying and race speed records at Texas Motor Speedway. Former driver Gil de Ferran holds the single-lap record of 222.864 mph, set on 10/10/03; while Castroneves and former driver Hornish Jr. set the 200 and 228-lap race speed records during their victories in 2006 and 2007 (respectively).

Did You Know?

  • Briscoe’s win on Sunday in Milwaukee was Penske Racing’s 300th major race win since Roger Penske became a full-time team owner in 1966.  Of the 300 Penske Racing wins, 76 came in stock cars, 135 in Indy cars, 22 in ALMS, 30 in SCCA Trans-Am, 15 in Can-Am and one in Formula One, with the remainder made up of victories in FIA Endurance, F5000 and USRRC competition, among others.

Briscoe on the Bombardier Learjet 550k:

“It’s been a couple of years since I’ve raced at Texas Motor Speedway, but I’m definitely looking forward to getting back there. I only have one race under my belt at this track, but I remember it to be one of the most intense races I’ve ever been in, and it produces a great show for the fans. Team Penske has had considerable success in Texas, and I’m looking forward to trying to make it three wins in a row for us and two in a row for the No. 6 car.”