Team Penske NTT INDYCAR SERIES Qualifying Report - Laguna Seca

September 10, 2022

Track:  WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
Race:   Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey
Date:   September 10, 2022

No. 2 Hitachi Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden
Second Practice
Position: 4th
Position: 25th

No. 3 XPEL Dallara/Chevrolet – Scott McLaughlin
Second Practice
Position: 18th
Position: 8th

No. 12 Verizon 5G Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Second Practice
Position: 3rd
Position: 1st - 68th career NTT P1 Award (most all time)

Top Second Practice Time: 1:11.3487 seconds (No. 10 – Alex Palou)
Top Qualifying Time: 1:11.6127 seconds (No. 12 – Will Power)
Team Notes: Overcast skies greeted the teams of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES for the final Saturday of the 2022 season, providing a bit more grip to the abrasive WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. After a morning practice session, the 26-car field powered around the 2.238-mile, natural terrain road course for one of the most important qualifying sessions of the year. History would be made as Will Power and the No. 12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet team eclipsed Mario Andretti's record with his 68th INDYCAR Series pole position and a most important championship bonus point in his quest to win his second NTT INDYCAR SERIES title. Scott McLaughlin will roll his No. 3 XPEL Chevrolet from the eighth starting position after narrowly missing the Firestone Fast Six after dropping his left rear tire off the circuit on his final lap. Unfortunately for Josef Newgarden and the No. 2 Hitachi Chevrolet team, the two-time champion spun in the "Corkscrew" section of the track early in his initial qualifying run. He was not able to record an official lap and will start tomorrow's race from the 25th position.
Coverage on NBC, Peacock, INDYCAR Radio and Sirius XM Channel 209
Sunday, September 11, 3:00 p.m. ET: Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey