NTT INDYCAR SERIES Qualifying Report - Indianapolis

July 4, 2020

Track:     Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
Race:      GMR Grand Prix
Date:      July 3, 2020

No. 1 XPEL Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden
Position:                  12th
Time / Speed:          1:10.3862 / 124.746 mph

Position:                  6th
Time / Speed:          No time

No. 12 Verizon Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power
Position:                  1st
Time / Speed:          1:09.9487 / 125.526 mph

Position:                  1st – 58th-career INDYCAR pole
Time / Speed:          1:10.1779 / 125.116 mph

No. 22 Menards Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud
Position:                  7th
Time / Speed:          1:10.3129 / 124.876 mph

Position:                  20th
Time / Speed:          1:10.7438 / 124.115 mph

Fastest Times:
Practice – 1:09.9487 (No. 12 – Will Power)
Qualifying – 1:10.1779 (No. 12 – Will Power) 

Notes: It was a day of mixed results for Team Penske's three Chevrolets at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course as they practiced and qualified for Saturday's GMR Grand Prix. Will Power had the strongest day, finishing both practice and qualifying in the top spot on the charts. His qualifying time of 1:10.1779 sec. gave him his 58th-career INDYCAR SERIES pole. He now is just nine poles away from breaking Mario Andretti's record for the most career poles. Josef Newgarden's qualifying session saw some challenges by barely making it to Round 2 and ultimately finishing the Firestone Fast Six qualifying session in sixth after locking up the tire and being unable to record a time. Simon Pagenaud and the No. 22 Menards Dallara/Chevrolet had some unfortunate luck by not being able to pass the first round of qualifying and will start 20th. However, with Pagenaud being one of only two drivers who won the race – the other being Power – the No. 22 team feels strong about their plan to find speed in tomorrow's race.

Coverage: The GMR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course will be broadcast on Saturday, July 4 on NBC at 12 p.m. ET. Coverage can also be heard on the INDYCAR Radio Network and on Sirius XM Channel 205.