Team Penske Drivers Top IndyCar Finishers In Surfers Race #2

October 25, 2010

SURFERS PARADISE, Australia (October 24, 2010) - The final race of the weekend's V8 Supercar Series doubleheader on the streets of Surfers Paradise proved to be yet another day filled with action and drama.

Team Penske IZOD IndyCar Series standout Ryan Briscoe took the honors as the highest finishing IndyCar driver as he and co-driver Will Davison earned a respectable seventh-place finish. Penske teammates Will Power and Helio Castroneves both overcame adversity during Sunday's race to finish 13th and 19th, respectively.

In a thrilling race on the tight Surfers street circuit, with the early action punctuated by a series of safety car periods - most involving the international stars drafted in for the weekend activities - Briscoe represented the IndyCar contingent quite well and had a very solid day. After starting back in the 21st spot on the grid Briscoe had a busy, yet relatively quiet day on the track. This worked in his favor as he claimed best among his peers with a seventh-place finish.

Power, along with his teammate, Steven Richards started the race from the front row on the strength of a second-place qualifying effort. The duo appeared poised for a strong finish until a miscue in the pits. Power experienced some issues on the driver change and the team lost valuable track time as it scurried to gather Power's seat insert and gloves. Despite the mishap, the team was able to finish the race in the 13th position, and by doing so, Power ended up being the second-highest IndyCar regular finisher.

Castroneves and co-driver Tim Slade started the race from the 23rd position. The two were able to finish the 102-lap epic that featured its share of attrition, with nearly a third of the 29-car field failing to make the distance. Castroneves appeared to be poised for a solid result when he was collected by Dario Franchitti's weekend teammate, Steven Johnson. Castroneves eventually finished the race six laps down to the leaders in 19th-place. The outcome of the race left Castroneves as the third-highest finishing IndyCar Series regular, followed by Alex Tagliani, Franchitti and Scott Dixon, in that order.

SPEED will televise all the action from the Gold Coast on Sunday, October 31 beginning at 3 pm ET.