Castroneves To Be Honored At Sports Legends Dinner

September 18, 2008

Helio Castroneves will be honored at the Twenty-Third Annual Great Sports Legends Dinner, the premiere fund-raiser of The Buoniconti Fund to Cure Paralysis, on Monday, September 22 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. The Buoniconti Fund is the national fund-raising arm of The Miami Project.

The event, attended by more than 1,300 supporters from the world of sports, business and entertainment, honors Great Sports Legends from various categories. Castroneves will join a distinguished class of 2008 including: Jerry Rice, Andre Agassi, Scottie Pippen, Joe Gibbs, Richard “Goose” Gossage, Ray “Boom Boom” Mancini, Angelo Dundee and Gabrielle Reece. In addition, a special Inspiration Award will go to Kevin Everett.

“It’s a tremendous honor to be included as an honoree at this year’s Annual Great Sports Legends Dinner,” said Castroneves. “From the first day I met him, Marc Buoniconti has inspired me with his incredible strength and determination. Not only am I extremely flattered to be recognized for my achievements, I am also proud to be involved with such a worthwhile cause. This event is always a special evening and I’m thrilled to be a part of it this year.”

Monday evening’s ceremonies, hosted by Bob Costas, will mark the fifth time a member of Team Penske will be honored at this event. Roger Penske was an Honoree in 2003, former teammate and 2003 Indianapolis 500 winner Gil de Ferran was honored in 2007, four-time Indianapolis 500 winner Rick Mears was honored in 1991 and two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Al Unser Jr. was honored in 1994.

Over the past twenty-two years, the Sports Legends Dinners have raised millions, making it the cornerstone of The Miami Project's annual budget. Past Legends include: Michael Jordan, Muhammad Ali, Dan Marino, Mario Andretti, Joe DiMaggio, Wayne Gretzky, Jack Nicklaus, Chris Evert, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Charles Barkley, Bart Conner, Ray Floyd, Dorothy Hamill, Evander Holyfield, Lennox Lewis, Mickey Mantle, John McEnroe and Bill Parcells.