IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Qualifying Report - ROAR Before the 24

January 11, 2018

Track: Daytona International Speedway
Race: Rolex 24 at Daytona
Date: January 7, 2018

No. 6 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 DPi – Juan Pablo Montoya/Dane Cameron/Simon Pagenaud

Driver: Dane Cameron
Position: 5th
Time: 1:36.988 seconds

No. 7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 DPi – Helio Castroneves/Ricky Taylor/Graham Rahal

Driver: Ricky Taylor
Position: 6th
Time: 1:37.231 seconds

Fastest Qualifying Time: 1:35.806 seconds (No. 31 – Felipe Nasr)

Recap: For the first time in the 56-year history of the Rolex 24 at Daytona, the Roar Before the 24 kickoff event featured a qualifying session that set pit stalls and garages for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship teams when the series returns for the 24-hour race at the end of January. Team Penske newcomers Dane Cameron and Ricky Taylor were chosen to qualifying their No. 6 and No. 7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 DPi entries, respectively, during the 15-minute session and both slotted in with respectable times. Cameron placed his No. 6 Acura in the fifth position with Taylor coming in just behind by securing the sixth-fastest time in the No. 7. There is one more practice session in the 2018 Roar Before the 24 this afternoon at 2:45 pm ET.