Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

June 24, 2017

Track:                      Road America
Race:                        Kohler Grand Prix
Date:                        June 24, 2017

No. 1 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Position:                  4th
Time:                        1:42.0385
Speed:                     141.617mph

No. 2 DeVilbiss Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden

Position:                  3rd
Time:                        1:41.6608
Speed:                     142.143 mph

No. 3 REV Group Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves

Position:                  1st   (50th career INDYCAR pole win)
Time:                        1:41.3007
Speed:                     142.649 mph

No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Position:                  2nd
Time:                        1:41.3611
Speed:                     142.564 mph

Fast Time:               1:41.3007 (No. 3 – Helio Castroneves)

Recap:  Helio Castroneves won the Verizon P1 Pole Award for Sunday's Kohler Grand Prix in Saturday afternoon's Verizon IndyCar Series qualifying session at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin as Team Penske swept the top-four qualifying positions. This is Castroneves and the No. 3 REV Group Chevrolet team’s third pole award of the 2017 season having also earned the honors at Long Beach and Phoenix. It's also the 50th of his INDYCAR career (7 CART/43 IRL/IC), which gives him sole possession of third-place on the all-time INDYCAR poles list and needs just three more to tie A.J, Foyt for second. Mario Andretti tops the chart with 67. It was Castroneves' first pole win at the Wisconsin road course and his 10th career on a permanent road course. This is also the 10th pole for Team Penske at Road America in open-wheel competition. Team Penske has won six Verizon P1 Pole Awards in 10 races this season and 17 of the last 25 dating back to the beginning of last season. Additionally, it is the 251st Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the history of Team Penske and the 524th pole for the organization overall. Will Power posted the second-fastest time of the session behind the wheel of his No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet and will start alongside Castroneves on the front row. Josef Newgarden and his No. 2 DeVilbiss Chevy were just three-tenths of a second behind the top time and will start on the inside of Row 2 with Simon Pagenaud lining up the No. 1 Menards Chevrolet in the fourth position. It is the fourth time Team Penske qualified 1-2-3-4 since becoming a four-car team in 2015 with the others coming at St. Petersburg (2015, 2016) and Sonoma (2016), as well as accomplishing it at least once in each of those three campaigns.

Coverage: The Kohler Grand Prix will be telecast live on NBC Sports Network on Sunday at 12:30 p.m. ET with radio coverage on INDYCAR Radio Network, Sirius 212 and XM 209. Additional coverage can be found at