2013 Overview
2013 Overview

2013 OverviewComing off a landmark season in 2012, Penske Racing is excited to return to the track and continue its tradition of excellence in 2013.

The organization secured its first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship last season as driver Brad Keselowski and the No. 2 Miller Lite team captured the title with five wins and a remarkably consistent and productive Chase for the Championship. Penske Racing also fought for the NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) crown with driver Sam Hornish Jr. and the No. 12 Alliance Truck Parts/Wurth team, who eventually earned a fourth-place finish in the standings.

In IZOD IndyCar Series competition, Team Penske also battled for the title as the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske squad and driver Will Power came up just three points shy of the championship.

With a strong returning lineup and a few key additions, Penske Racing is ready to once again compete for wins, poles and championships at all levels of competition in 2013.

As they look to defend their title from 2012, Keselowski returns to the Miller Lite team along with winning crew chief Paul Wolfe to form a potent championship-contending duo. Now running Ford Fusions in NASCAR’s top level of racing, Keselowski, Wolfe and the Miller Lite team are excited for the chance to build on their success from last season.

Keselowski is joined by new teammate Joey Logano, who takes over as driver of the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil Ford in 2013. An accomplished and skilled racer at the young age of 22, Logano will team with veteran crew chief Todd Gordon as he continues to add to his 20 career combined victories Cup Series and Nationwide Series competition.

As both Keselowski and Logano have proven to be two of the most productive drivers in the Nationwide Series over the past few years, each racer will also plan to race in select NNS events in 2013.  Both Keselowski and Logano will see action in the No. 22 Discount Tire Ford Mustang this season with crew chief Jeremy Bullins once again leading the charge for the team.

2013 OverviewHornish Jr. enjoyed a career renaissance in 2012 as he fought for the Nationwide Series championship and he returns more focused than ever on claiming the crown in 2013. Experienced crew chief Greg Erwin joins the No. 12 Alliance Truck Parts/Wurth Ford team this upcoming season as he tries to help Hornish add an NNS championship to his three IndyCar Series titles.

Young driver Ryan Blaney came on board with Penske Racing at mid-season in 2012, competing in select Nationwide Series events, and he will return to the team this season as he continues his rapid NASCAR development.

The Team Penske IndyCar program returns two of the most accomplished racers in recent series history in 2013. Both Power and Helio Castroneves won poles and races in 2012 and they expect to once again run at the front of the field this season.

Power led the IZOD IndyCar Series with three wins and five poles as he claimed his third consecutive Mario Andretti Road Course championship last season. He suffered contact in the final race of the year to finish second in the overall series title battle but with incredible speed and experience, Power hopes to be a top contender in 2013 driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet.

Castroneves recovered from a disappointing 2011 campaign last season as he scored two victories in his 13th season racing for Team Penske. Rejuvenated and refocused on winning his first series title and his fourth Indianapolis 500 victory, Castroneves will be one to watch as he competes yet again in the No. 3 Shell-Pennzoil/Hitachi/AAA/PPG Dallara/Chevrolet in 2013.

Strong, experienced and motivated at all levels of racing for next season, 2013 has all the makings of an exciting, winning, and hopefully, another championship year for Penske Racing.