Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

May 13, 2016

Track:  Indianapolis Motor Speedway RC
Race:   Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis
Date:    May 13, 2016
No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Juan Pablo Montoya
Position:        8
Time:              1:09.2645
Speed:           126.766 mph
No. 3 hum by Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves
Position:        15
Time:              1:09.4947
Speed:           126.346 mph
No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power
Position:        12
Time:              1:09.9297
Speed:           125.560 mph
No. 22 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud
Position:        1
Time:              1:08.6868      
Speed:           127.832 mph
Fast Time:     1:08.6868 (No. 22 – Pagenaud)

Recap:  Simon Pagenaud won the pole position Friday for the 3rd annual Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis in the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet with a lap of 1 minute, 8.6868 seconds (127.832 mph) in the final qualifying round of the Firestone Fast Six. This is his second pole of the season, winning just two weeks ago at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.  It's also his fourth career Verizon IndyCar Series pole.  Pagenaud also set a new event record with his qualifying effort. Team Penske has won all five Verizon P1 Pole Awards this season.

Coverage:  The Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis will be televised live on Saturday, May 14 on ABC, with coverage starting at 3:30 p.m. ET (green flag at 3:50 p.m. ET).  Race coverage will also be broadcast live on Sirius 212, XM 209 and live streamed on ESPN3.

- This is Pagenaud's second Verizon P1 Pole Award of the season and his first on the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. His first of the year came at Barber Motorsports Park.

- Third pole win of his Team Penske career having won his first a season ago at Fontana.

- Fourth pole of his Verizon IndyCar Series career.

- Team Penske has won all five pole awards this season and 18 of the last 21 dating back to last season.

- This is the 239th Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the 50-year history of Team Penske and the 494th pole in overall team history.