Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

May 12, 2017

Track:  Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
Race:   INDYCAR Grand Prix
Date:    May 12, 2017

No. 1 Menards Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Position:                  7th
Time:                        1:08.4461
Speed:                     128.282 mph

No. 2 Hum by Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden

Position:                  3rd
Time:                        1:08.1622
Speed:                     128.816 mph

No. 3 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves

Position:                  2nd
Time:                        1:08.1169
Speed:                     128.902 mph

No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Position:                  1st   (47th career INDYCAR pole)
Time:                        1:07.7044
Speed:                     129.687 mph

No. 22 Fitzgerald Glider Kit Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Juan Pablo Montoya

Position:                  5th
Time:                        1:08.2478
Speed:                     128.655 mph

Fast Time:               1:07.7044 (No. 12 Will Power)

Recap: Will Power and the No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet team captured their third Verizon P1 Pole Award this season at Indianapolis Motor Speedway's road course during Friday’s qualifying session – the 250th INDYCAR pole Team Penske has won as an organization. For Power, it was the 47th of his career which ranks fifth on the series' all-time list, just two shy of tying teammate Helio Castroneves and Bobby Unser for third all-time. Power has also won two of the four poles in the brief history of the INDYCAR Grand Prix event. Castroneves and his No. 3 Verizon Chevrolet will line up for Saturday afternoon's race in the second position while Josef Newgarden will start from the third spot in his No. 2 Hum by Verizon Chevrolet. Juan Pablo Montoya, who is making his season debut, will roll off the grid fifth in the No. 22 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Chevy. Defending race winner Simon Pagenaud qualified seventh behind the wheel of the No. 1 Menards Chevrolet. Team Penske now has 520 pole wins in its just over 50 years of competition across all disciplines.

Coverage: The INDYCAR Grand Prix will be telecast live on ABC on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. ET with radio coverage on INDYCAR Radio Network, Sirius 212 and XM 209. Additional coverage can be found at