Team Penske's 50th Anniversary Exhibit Featured at IMS

February 22, 2016

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (February 22, 2016) – Continuing the celebration of Team Penske’s 50 years in motorsports in 2016, on Friday the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) Hall of Fame Museum unveiled a special exhibit that includes a unique collection of the team’s winning cars from the past five decades. Featuring legendary winning cars from Team Penske’s rich history in open-wheel, stock car and sports car competition, the exhibit was launched in conjunction with the 100-day countdown to the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500.

The Team Penske collection will be featured at the IMS Museum through the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 this May and until November 30. Some of the rare cars featured in the exhibit include many winning entries from Team Penske’s record 16 Indianapolis 500 victories, highlighted by both the first and the most recent Indy wins – the 1972 McLaren M16B driven by Mark Donohue that earned the team’s maiden Indy 500 victory and the 2015 Dallara/Chevrolet that Juan Pablo Montoya drove to Victory Circle last May. Cars that produced two landmark NASCAR wins for Team Penske will also be featured in the exhibit. The 2012 XFINITY Series car that Brad Keselowski raced to Team Penske’s first NASCAR victory at the Brickyard will be displayed along with the Ford Fusion that won the 2015 Daytona 500 with Joey Logano at the wheel. A Cup Series car representing the Daytona 500 winning entry will be featured in the display until the actual winning race car will join the exhibit in the coming weeks after it leaves Daytona.

Team Penske legendary drivers Rick Mears and Helio Castroneves, who have produced seven Indy 500 victories between them, helped unveil the exhibit on Friday afternoon in Indianapolis. The No. 3 Pennzoil Dallara/Chevrolet that Castroneves will race in the 100th running of the Indy 500 on May 29 was also unveiled today at the exhibit’s launch, as it was proudly displayed next to the 1984 Pennzoil “yellow submarine” that Mears raced to the second of his four wins at Indy.

“The Indianapolis Motor Speedway has always been a special place for me, personally, and for our race teams,” said Roger Penske. “Our experiences at Indianapolis over the last 50 years have helped build and shape our organization and it is an honor to be able to share some of Team Penske’s history with race fans and visitors to the Speedway’s Hall of Fame Museum this year.”

The Team Penske vehicles featured in the IMS Hall of Fame Museum exhibit include:

1968 Z-28 Camaro driven by Mark Donohue – Trans-Am Series Champion

1969 Lola T152 driven by Mark Donohue – Team’s first Indianapolis 500 entry

1970 AMC Javelin driven by Mark Donohue – Trans-Am Series Runner-Up

1972 Porsche 917/10 driven by George Follmer – Can-Am Series Champion

1972 McLaren M16B driven by Mark Donohue – Indianapolis 500 Winner

1975 Penske PC1 driven by Mark Donohue – Team’s first Formula One car

1979 Penske PC6 driven by Rick Mears – Indianapolis 500 Winner

1981 Penske PC9 driven by Bobby Unser – Indianapolis 500 Winner

1985 March 85C driven by Danny Sullivan – Indianapolis 500 Winner

1987 March 86C driven by Al Unser – Indianapolis 500 Winner

1993 Penske PC22 driven by Emerson Fittipaldi – Indianapolis 500 Winner

1994 Penske PC23 driven by Al Unser Jr. – Indianapolis 500 Winner

2001 Dallara IR2 driven by Helio Castroneves – Indianapolis 500 Winner

2003 G-Force GF3 driven by Gil de Ferran – Indianapolis 500 Winner

2006 Dallara IR6 driven by Sam Hornish Jr. – Indianapolis 500 Winner

2012 Dodge Challenger driven by Brad Keselowski – NASCAR XFINITY Series Indianapolis Winner

2015 Ford Fusion driven by Joey Logano – Daytona 500 Winner

2015 Dallara IR12/Chevrolet driven by Juan Pablo Montoya – Indianapolis 500 Winner

About Team Penske
Team Penske is one of the most successful teams in the history of professional sports and is celebrating its 50th Anniversary during the 2016 season. Dating back to its first race in the 1966 24 Hours of Daytona, cars owned and prepared by Team Penske have produced more than 420 major race wins, over 480 pole positions and 28 National Championships across open-wheel, stock car and sports car racing competition. In its storied history, the team has also earned 16 Indianapolis 500 victories, two Daytona 500 Championships, a Formula 1 win and overall victories in the 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring. Over 80 drivers have raced for Team Penske over the years. For more information about Team Penske, please visit