In 2017, one of the fastest rising stars in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship - Scott McLaughlin - joins DJR Team Penske to compete in the No. 17 Ford Falcon.

McLaughlin made his racing debut at eight, progressing through the New Zealand and Australian Karting scenes before being given a test in a Stone Brothers Racing Supercar.

The Stones spotted the potential in the young McLaughlin, and took the decision to promote him straight into the 2010 Supercars Dunlop series at just 16 years’ of age.

2012 was a breakout year for McLaughlin, competing in – and winning – both the Supercars Dunlop Series in Australia and the New Zealand V8 Super Tourer series. He also made his "main-game" Supercar debut the same year, partnering Jonathon Webb at Tekno in both the Sandown 500 and Bathurst 1000.

It was at the 2012 Sydney 500 that he got his "big break," replacing the ill Alex Premat at Garry Rogers Motorsport for the final race of the season. He finished in 17th place after starting at the rear of the grid, and it was this performance that earned McLaughlin a fulltime drive at GRM for the 2013 season.

McLaughlin went onto become the youngest ever winner of a Supercars race when he won at Pukekohe Park Raceway in front of an adoring home crowd, ending the year 10th in the Championship to win the Mike Kable Young Gun Award that recognizes Rookie of the Year.

The 2014 season brought the new challenge of a manufacturer switch, as GRM represented Volvo’s return to Australian motorsport. McLaughlin began the season in sensational style, qualifying on the front row at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide, claiming a memorable second behind Craig Lowndes on the Saturday after an intense battle with six-time Champion Jamie Whincup. The season only got better from there, with five race wins, multiple podium finishes and nine pole positions, topped off with the Barry Sheene Medal for Supercars’ best and fairest.