Simon Pagenaud completed a dream season in 2016 as he was crowned Verizon IndyCar Series Champion after leading the series in just about every key statistical category including wins, poles, podiums and laps led. The Frenchman’s first IndyCar title represented the 14th open-wheel crown and 29th championship overall for Team Penske, coming in the organization’s landmark 50th season of racing.

Driving the No. 22 Hewlett Packard Enterprise/Menards/PPG/DeVilbiss Chevrolet, Pagenaud produced five wins and seven Verizon P1 pole awards in 2016, edging teammate Will Power for the title when Pagenaud won the series finale at Sonoma Raceway in convincing fashion. Pagenaud’s championship run led a Team Penske 1-2-3 finish in the standings.

The magical 2016 campaign for Pagenaud came in just his second season competing for Team Penske as he joined open-wheel racing’s winningest team in 2015, marking the first time in its storied history that the organization fielded a four-car lineup. The title also highlighted Pagenaud’s remarkable rise in racing.

After competing in Formula Renault for several years, Pagenaud made the move to the United States in 2006 to compete in the Champ Car Atlantic Series with Walker Racing and Team Australia. In his rookie season of Champ Car Atlantic, Pagenaud captured the series title over current Verizon IndyCar Series driver Graham Rahal. Pagenaud applied the prize money won from that season towards a 2007 Champ Car World Series opportunity with Walker Racing and Team Australia, where he was a teammate to current Verizon IndyCar Series and Team Penske driver, Will Power. Pagenaud finished eighth in the Champ Car World Series standings in 2007.